Dustin Johnson, Brooks Keopka commit to The Players

Two more of golf’s biggest names have committed to The Players Championship.

Dustin Justin and Brooks Keopka will tee it up March 14 when the tournament returns to March for the first time since 2007.

Johnson won his 20th career PGA Tour event when he took the top spot at the World Golf Championship event in Mexico City, earning him a lifetime exemption on the PGA Tour. In 10 previous starts at The Players, Johnson has never finished in the top 10. However, the move to March may help his chances. If the rough isn’t grown as thick as it has been in May, long drivers like Johnson won’t be penalized as harshly for missing the fairway.

Keopka has won five times on the PGA Tour. The four-time All American at Florida State has won the U.S. Open twice as well as the PGA Championship. He won both tournaments in 2018. In four previous starts at The Players, Keopka’s best finish was a T11 last year.

The first round of The Players tees off on March 14 with the final round scheduled for March 17 at the Stadium Course at TPC Sawgrass.

Source link